Ahead Tokyo 2020 Olympics: Sports Minister inaugurates  Ministerial Committee 

Ahead Tokyo 2020 Olympics: Sports Minister inaugurates  Ministerial Committee 
Zainab Tanimu
Kaduna, North-West,Nigeria
The Minister for Youth and Sports Development, Hon. Sunday Dare has inaugurated  the Ministerial Committee for the 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games.  
This according to the  press statement signed by information Officer 1 Ulor Chioma on behalf of the Director Press, dated 29th November, 2019, 
 said the action was in furtherance of the minister’s avowed commitment to a purposeful and outstanding podium  performance at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.
The Minister asserted that the formation of the Committee was a promise fulfilled from the fallout of his earlier engagement with the Presidents / Secretaries of Federations, President of NOC and  Coaches ; to chart a way forward for a glorious performance at the intercontinental Games.
In the course of the inauguration of the Ministerial Committee at the MKO Abiola Stadium Office recently,  Hon Sunday Dare stated that the Committee’s mandate is planning and coordinating Nigeria’s preparation, participation and eventual podium performance at the Games, adding that it would also collaborate with the Technical Committee to implement its mandate.
He revealed that to accelerate the decisions of the discussion held at the last meeting with all the  Secretaries  and Paralympic Federations, the Ministry through the Federations and Elites Athletes Department FEAD have sent out call order to submit their training plan and also overtime monitor the performance of the athletes to give the Ministry the data plan needed to have the scientific overview and analysis to know how many sports and athletes will be going to the Olympics.
Mr. Dare also informed the media of the Ministry’s plan to organise a Media training for the journalist to give them adequate training in covering sports through data and statistics.
The Ministerial Committee is headed by the Permanent Secretary Mr. Adesola Olusade, other members are Engr. Habu Gumel, Brig.Gen.Emico Eruwa, Mrs Hauwa  kulu Akinyemi, Dr. Ademola Are and Dr. Paul Onyeudo. Others are Dr. Mrs. Toyin Madein, Mr. Samuel Onuh, Amb. Mary Onyali, Arch Abiodun Owoborode, Mrs Tayo Oreweme and Mr. Emma Nweri.
Responding on behalf of the Committee,  the Chairman,  Mr. Olusade Adesola commended the Minister, describing the inauguration as an affirmation of his commitment to the Game. 
He promised the Committee will put in their best to implement the Committees mandate for a  successful preparation of Team Nigeria and   ensuring  the  Nation derived  maximum benefits from the athletes.