Portugal Friendly: Peseiro Shuns Ahmed Musa, Awoniyi, Invites Osimhen, Onuachu And 21 Others

Portugal Friendly: Peseiro Shuns Ahmed Musa, Awoniyi, Invites Osimhen, Onuachu And 21 Others
By Niyi Busari, Alfred Kadiri
Jose Peseiro, head coach of the Super Eagles has shunned captain Ahmed Musa, Taiwo Awoniyi as he has invited red-hot Victor Osimhen, Paul Onuachu, William Ekong and Wilfred Ndidi in a 23-man squad to face World Cup-bound Portugal in a friendly encounter in Lisbon on Thursday next week, BSNSports.com.ng reports.
Recall Musa missed the last tune-up game against Algeria Foxes after he picked up a arm injury during a Turkish Super Lig game for Sivasspor and underwent surgery.
Ajax defender Calvin Bassey and Kevin Akpoguma made the list, just as Joe Aribo, Alex Iwobi, Moses Simon and Atalanta new kid in the block Ademola Lookman.
Wing back Tyronne Ebuehi makes a long-awaited return to the fold, as hard-as-nails midfielder Oghenekaro Etebo. Defenders Bruno Onyemaechi and Bright Osayi Samuel (based in Portugal and Turkey respectively) are called up for the first time.
Belgium league top scorer Onuachu also makes his return to the three-time African champions.
Thursday’s encounter at the Estadio Jose Alvalade in Lisbon will kick off at 18.45pm Portugal time (19.45pm in Nigeria).
Goalkeepers: Maduka Okoye (Watford FC, England); Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel).
Defenders: William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa); Calvin Bassey (Ajax FC, The Netherlands); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany); Chidiebube Duru (Rivers United); Tyronne Ebuehi (Empoli FC, Italy); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal); Bright Osayi Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey).
Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Aris Thessaloniki, Greece)
Forwards: Moses Simon (Nantes FC, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Terem Moffi (Lorient FC, France); Paul Onuachu (Genk FC, Belgium); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy) and Emmanuel Dennis (Nottingham Forest, England).
See also  Kaduna SWAN Secondary Schools Indoor Sports: ECWA Goodness Emerges Overall Champion